History of the School

"The truly magical setting of Birchfield, a little known gem of Shropshire"

The site for Birchfield School, formerly Beamish House, was acquired by Major Walter Garnett-Botfield in 1908.  There was no house, no garden, in fact no vegetation save the wild plants in the field.  He commissioned Baillie Scott, a renowned architect, who was considered to be at the forefront of the Arts & Crafts Movement at the turn of the twentieth century.  Baillie Scott described his preferred clients as "people with artistic aspirations but modest incomes".  He invented a new type of small house by opening up the plan around a spacious living area and extending the interior into the garden.  Beamish House typifies his style.

Major Garnett-Botfield's wife, Daisy, was an ardent gardener and turned a large grass field into a beautiful garden for Beamish House.  She was the driving spirit behind the garden and in the 1920's and 1930's Beamish was a regular entry in the Small Gardens of England.  She also submitted numerous articles to the Royal Horticultural Society informing of its splendours and delights.  The family lived at Beamish until 1953 when it was sold by Private Treaty and it briefly became the Beamish Country Club.  Shortly afterwards Birchfield School moved from Tettenhall and took up residence in Beamish House.